nutrition information.net title image nutrition information site logo


Google

top url strip
white spacer

What Can Vegetarians Consume?





The other day I got ride from a female friend and on the way home, she offered to stop at her favorite hot-dog spot to grab a bite. She asked if I wanted some, I declined; she smirked and said it was on her and I had to smirk back and tell her that I was vegetarian and really didn’t eat out anyway.

“You mean you eat NO flesh at all…? She insisted. “Yep, that’s correct…” I responded “But go on and eat your meal, don’t let me get in the way now”

Afterwards, she asked me what do vegetarians have left to eat as far as nutrients are concerned and though I had vowed to not discuss my eating habits with people anymore, I obliged her this one time and my answers are the body of this article.

Quite simply, a vegetarian can eat anything that is not of animal origin and is mostly found in the produce section of the grocery stores.

Okay, to be more direct: I'm talking about Fruits, Vegetables (Leafy and Root Ones), Some Less Harmful whole grains and other permissible products such as Genuine Maple Syrup, Sea Vegetables, etc.

This category above will depict the eating style of what may be known as a vegan, but there are still some other types of vegetarians that do exist and they are as follows:

1) Pescatarians

The word “pescatarian” is occasionally used to describe those who abstain from eating all meat and animal flesh with the exception of fish. Although the word is not commonly used, more and more people are adopting this kind of diet, usually for health reasons or as a stepping stone to a fully vegetarian diet.

2) Flexitarian/Semi-vegetarian

“Flexitarian” is a term recently coined to describe those who eat a mostly vegetarian diet, but occasionally eat meat.

3) Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo- vegetarian)

People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians (“lacto” comes from the Latin for milk, and “ovo” for egg).

Lacto-vegetarian is used to describe a vegetarian who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products.

Ovo-vegetarian refers to people who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs.

4) Vegan

Vegans do not eat meat of any kind and also do not eat eggs, dairy products, or processed foods containing these or other animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin.

5) Raw vegan/Raw food diet

A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit (46 degrees Celsius).

6) Macrobiotic

The macrobiotic diet, revered by some for its healthy and healing qualities, includes unprocessed vegan foods, such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and allows the occasional consumption of fish.

”So which are you?” She asks after I defined each of the types of vegetarians.

“A mucus-less vegan” I answered with a smile.

“And what is that?” she asked flabbergasted.

“That I’ll tell you some other time…we’ve reached my apartment building and thanks for the ride…”

We exchanged smiles in an agreement to continue with the discussion…

Well, have you been able to figure out which vegetarian you may want to be?

Foras Aje is an independent researcher and co-founder of BodyHealthSoul LLC. Stop by His Fasting for Weight Loss Blog today for more information on this Article addressing: what can a vegetarian eat?

More vegetarian articles

Go to home page of nutrition information.net | Sources and Attributions

 

bottom copyright strip