nutrition title image nutrition information site logo


top url strip
white spacer

How To Cook Vegetarian At Holiday Season

Vegans and vegetarians have no problems staying happy during the holiday season when it concerns culinary delights and meals. Although, vegans definitely appreciate the effort by nonvegetarian cooks that take the time to prepare vegetarian meals and treats.

During the holiday season, do not stress where cooking for a vegetarian is a concern. Because you do not need to add to the seasonal stress, this article will help prepare you for vegetarian cooking during the holiday season.

First, determine what type of vegetarian or vegan your guest is. Because there are several sub-categories of vegetarians, it is best to ask your guest at what level or sub-category they maintain. There are five or six prominent sub-categories, that most will fit into. Here are a few of the more prominent vegetarian categories.

Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood.






This list of questions concerning their diet will help determine what is suitable for your vegetarian guests. Do not hesitate to ask as this may even help your vegetarian or vegan guests relax as they know you are making the special effort to accommodate them.

1. What types of meat do you eat if any at all? 2. Do you prefer not to use serving utensils that have been placed in contact with meat products? 3. Do you eat dairy foods or foods containing dairy products, such as eggs and milk? 4. Do you eat foods with honey and yeast? 5. Because we are serving a main dish of meat, would you prefer to bring your own main dish?

If you find that they eat meat, it will probably be turkey, chicken or fish. If your plans do not include either of these meats, you can suggest that they bring their own main dish and you can warm and present it during the meal

Because some vegetarians may be subject to gastrointestinal stress from the consumption of meat and grease from meat, you can ask if it is necessary to keep serving utensils for meat items separate from other non-meat dishes. Providing that is a possibility, you can place individual serving utensils for each item and remind all guests not to mix them.

It is very important to determine if your guests are ovo-vegetarian or lacto-vegetarian- no eggs or no milk respectively. For these sub-category vegetarians that maintain this diet for either health or ethical reasons, there are several options. You can create a few more dishes that do not contain milk or eggs. Another option is to cook with egg substitutes and soy milk which are readily available at most any grocery store.

You may find that your vegetarian guest is against consuming honey and yeast because of ethical beliefs. If that is the case, once again you can prepare additional dishes or offer to serve any dishes your guest would like to bring

Most often, non-vegetarian meals offer a meat dish as part of the main course. Give your guest the option to bring her or his own alternative meat dish like tofu and portobello mushrooms or veggie burgers.

When preparing your holiday season meals, remember that there are many different eating tastes and diet preferences. Accommodating vegetarians or vegans requires little more than asking a few questions. If your vegetarian guest will not be helping you prepare the meal, then begin by asking the simple questions listed above. Determine the vegetarian diet category she or he maintains and with a few adjustments to your normal cooking preparations you can create the perfect holiday season meal.

As editor and author for many health related websites, Loren writes to provide helpful tips as found in the article How To Cook Vegetarian For Holiday Season and information for the website visitors of

More vegetarian articles

Go to home page of nutrition | Sources and Attributions


bottom copyright strip